FBLA prepares for a new school year

THE EXECUTIVE OFFICERS of Coal City High School’s chapter of Future Business Leaders of America attended the organizations summer leadership workshop. Officers for the new school year are (from left): Abigail Charles, president; Madison Lander, vice president; Preston Johnson, historian; Nick Berta, state vice president; Ben Kreiger, reporter; Lauren Culler, treasurer, and Ariana Pullara, secretary. Courtesy photo

    A new school year is underway and big things are ahead for members of Coal City High School’s chapter of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA).
    Last month, the chapter’s officers attended the organization’s annual three-day summer leadership workshop in Springfield.  The workshop provided the group an opportunity to complete a program of work to guide the chapter through the school year.
    Those attending also gained valuable leadership skills through team building exercises.
    “Now they get to put their plans and goals into action this school year,” said Harlan Kennell, chapter advisor. He noted those goals and related projects will be announced in the coming weeks.
    Not only will chapter members be working on local chapter goals, but they will be called on to support one of their own who has taken on a statewide role within the organization.
    Nick Berta, a senior, has been selected to serve as a state vice president and will hold the additional duties of central northern area president.
    In his role with the state association he will work to promote the organization locally and across the state, as well as represent the members at various conferences and plan and participate in state-level events.
    FBLA is the largest career student organization in the world helping to prepare its members for careers in business by bringing business and education together through leadership and career development programs.
    In addition to his work on the state level, Berta will assist local chapter officers in their duties.
    Abigail Charles leads the group this year, having been selected by her peers to the role of president. She will be assisted by vice president Madison Lander, secretary Ariana Pullara, treasurer Lauren Culler, reporter Ben Kreiger and historian Preston Johnson.