Spesia retains seat on Coal City Village Board

David Spesia, who was appointed to the Coal City Village Board in March 2018, has been retained by village voters.
Spesia garnered 58.86 percent of the vote in Tuesday’s consolidated election to fulfill the remaining two years of the term vacated by Justin Wren.
Spesia was challenged by Georgette Vota, a former village trustee and current chairperson of the town’s Planning and Zoning Board. The unofficial vote count has Spesia with 196 and Vota with 137.
Voters in the village of Coal City also cast ballots for president (mayor), village clerk and trustee.
Terry Halliday was re-elected to his second term as president with a final vote count of 303. Noffsinger remains in the role of clerk. She garnered 275 votes.
Incumbent trustees Dan Greggain and Ross Bradley were re-elected and Dave Togliatti, who’s re-election bid two years ago failed by a single vote, rejoins the board. The vote count has Greggain with 254, Togliatti with 247 and Bradley with 214.
Village of Carbon Hill— Chad Macaluso and Ed Lancaster were re-elected to the village board. There were three seats available for four year terms, along with an unexpired two-year term. Macaluso received nine votes and Lancaster 12. The remaining seats available will be filled by appointment.
Village of Diamond—Mark Adair and Denise Brown were retained the seats they were appointed to by the mayor in order to fulfill the remaining two years of each of those terms.  Both will continue to serve through 2021. Adair received 32 votes and Brown 35 votes.
Coal City Unit 1 Board of Education—Four seats and four people, all incumbents, were on the April 2 ballot. The unofficial votes totals in the race were Kenneth P. Miller, 365; Robert Bianchetta, 332; Chuck Lander, 301, and Quint Harmon, 270.
Coal City Public Library Board—Five seats were available with four candidates appearing on the ballot. Elected to full six year terms were Stephen Smith,  274 votes; Kristine McPherson, 256 votes and Carol Crawford, 358 votes. Deborah Trotter was elected to a four year unexpired term receiving 394 votes. The board also has a two year unexpired term available and that seat will be filled by appointment.
A more in-depth look at election results will appear in the April 10 print edition.
Election results are not official until after the re-tab and canvass set for Wednesday, April 17. The re-tab, canvass and final ballot count will include any remaining vote by mail ballots received and postmarked by election day and valid provisional ballots cast on election day.