Pushed back primary election Tuesday


Illinois’ general primary election is set for Tuesday, June 28, votes that will set the ballot for election day in November.

The primary was pushed back from March as part of a voting bill signed into law last June. The primary push back was to allow for pandemic delayed census data to be received in order to redraw maps.

The state did redraw its maps and that means new Senate and House districts for local residents.

Coal City area voters—Diamond, Carbon Hill and Goose Lake, too—will now be in the 53rd Senate District and 106th Representative District.

As a result of redistricting there were some changes in county board districts.

Mazon Township was added to District 3 and Vienna Township was moved into District 1.

District 3 includes Goose Lake, Felix, Braceville, Maine, Highland, Goodfarm, Garfield, Greenfield and Mazon townships.

All 18 county board seats are up for election this year, as are the elected positions of county clerk, treasurer and sheriff.

Grundy County Clerk Kay Olson, a Democrat, is unopposed in her bid for re-election. Treasurer Todd Koehn and Sheriff Ken Briley, both Republicans, are also unopposed in this year’s election.

County Board candidates on the primary ballot for nomination to be elected in November are Democrats James ‘Jake’ Olson, David M. Stover, Mike Onorato and Ann Gill.

Republican candidates on the ballot for nomination in District 3 are Caleb Counterman, James K. Riley, Georgette Vota, Harold Vota and Douglas M. Boresi.

Voters can nominate up to six candidates per political party.

There is a contested primary race for Regional Superintendent Schools—Grundy and Kendall counties. Chris Mehochko, the current regional superintendent of schools, is facing a challenge from fellow Republican Kristen Koppers.

There area a number of judicial positions on the ballot.

For judge of the Supreme Court in the 3rd Judicial District, to fill vacancy of the Honorable Thomas L. Kilbride, Democrat Mary K. O’Brien is on the ballot as is Republican Michael J. Burke.

To fill the vacancy of the Honorable Vicki Wright as judge in the Third District Appellate Court James A. Murphy and Sonni Choi Williams are seeking the Democratic nomination. The Republican nomination is sought by Liam Christopher Brennan.

Seeking nomination for judge in the 13th District Circuit Court to fill the vacancy of the Honorable Eugene P. Daugherity is Democratic candidate Christina Cantlin and Republican Jason Helland—the current Grundy County State’s Attorney.

A number of statewide offices are also on the ballot, the most notable the race for Governor and Lt. Governor.

Incumbents JB Pritzker and Juliana Stratton are seeking the Democratic nomination as are Beverly Miles and Karla Shaw.

There are six candidate pairings on the Republican ballot including Darren Bailey and Stephanie Trussell, Paul Schimpf and Carolyn Schofield, Richard C. Irvin and Avery Bourne, Gary Rabine and Aaron Del Mar, Max Solomon and Latasha H. Fields and Jesse Sullivan and Kathleen Murphy.

Incumbent Attorney General Kwame Raoul is sole the Democratic nominee and will face either Steve Kim, David Shestokas or Thomas G. DeVore as the Republican nominee in November.
The retirement of longtime Secretary of State Jesse White has brought out a host of candidates.

Democrats seeking the nomination to replace White are Alexi Giannoulias, David H. Moore, Anna M. Valencia and Sidney Moore. Republican on the ballot for the secretary of state nomination for their party are Dan Brady and John C. Milhiser.

Each party has just one candidate for comptroller. Incumbent Susana A. Mendoza for the Democrats and Shannon L. Teresi for the Republicans.

The same for state treasurer with incumbent Michael W. Ferichs for the Democrats and Tom Demmer for the Republicans.

As noted, the local area has been moved into new House and Senate Districts.

Republican Thomas M. Bennett is the lone candidate for Representative and fellow Republican Jason Barickman is the only candidate for the Senate seat in the 53rd District.

Seeking the Republican nomination for Senate are Casey Chlebek, Peggy Hubbard, Robert “Bobby” Pinton, Jimmy Lee Tillman II, Anthony W. Williams, Kathy Salvi and Matthew “Matt” Dubiel.

Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Primary voters are required to declare a party—Democratic or Republican—if voting to nominate candidates for election, otherwise one can ask for a non-partisan ballot if only casting a vote on a proposition and there are three on the ballot—one each in Braceville, Gardner and Minooka.

Residents in the Braceville Fire Protection District are being asked if they support a 5% increase in corporate line item of the tax levy. If supported the rate would increase to 35%. The average property owner would see an increase of less than $50 on their tax bill if approved.

The additional funds are being sought to relapce outdated equipment cover increased payroll and insurance costs and cover dispatch system fees.
And, the village of Gardner is asking its residents if it should establishe a quiet zone to silence train horns within the municipality.

Voters in Braceville precincts 1, 2 and 4 will cast a ballot at Coal City Lions Hall, 460 S. Illinois St. and Braceville 2 voting will take place at the Braceville Township Hall, 7900 Braceville Rd., Braceville.

Residents located in Felix precincts 1 and 4 will vote at New Hope Presbyterian Church, 80 N. Garfleid; Felix 2 voters will cast a ballot at Township Hall, 6525 Whitetie Rd., and voters in Felix 3 will complete their ballot at Diamond Village Hall, 1750 E. Division St., Diamond.

Goose Lake voters in precincts 1 and 2 will cast a ballot at Goose Lake Township Hall, 2990 E. Pine Bluff Rd., Morris.

Maine Township voters will report to the Coal City Unit 1 Administrative Center’s board room at 550 S. Carbon Hill Rd., Coal City to place their vote.

Garfield 1 voting will be at the Gardner American Legion 426 Industry Ave., Gardner and Greenfield 1 voters will report to South Wilmington Village Hall, 380 Lake St., South Wilmington. Goodfarm voters report to the Township Hall, 10 E. Goodfarm Rd., Mazon; Highland voters cast a ballot at KMTC Community Center, Kinsman and Mazon voters report to Mazon Township Hall, 703 Park St., Mazon.

A full list of percent locations, as well as all county board district and precinct committee persons up for nomination appear in the specimen ballot that can be found on he Grundy County website at grundycountyil.gov.