Local industry hires summer interns from area high schools

Courtesy photo
A KICKOFF BREAKFAST was held recently to recognize 43 area students who were selected for the 2019 Grundy County Internship Program.

Morris Hospital held a kickoff breakfast to formally recognize and congratulate the 43 students selected for the 2019 Grundy County Internship Program.
Nikki Wills, Business Director of the GEDC opened the event by thanking the businesses, students, and educators in attendance.
Dr. Kenny Lee, Superintendent of Minooka Community High School, and Erin Murphy-Frobish, Vice President of Human Resources at Morris Hospital, also addressed the students and discussed the benefits and opportunities that will be afforded to them as part of this program.
Lee challenged students to take advantage of the opportunity, while Murphy-Frobish addressed the value of the program to local businesses taking part in the program.
Senator Rezin emphasized that the students should take pride in being chosen for this opportunity, and that the internships offer a chance to gain meaningful professional work experience and learn more about the many different employment options within Grundy County.
The 43 paid internships this year are with 16 different companies, offering a diverse set of opportunities for local students.
The program began in 2013 with just 12 internships and 3 companies. The program continues to become more competitive as over 125 students applied for the positions.
The Grundy County Internship Program was based on a mutual desire expressed by leaders in education and industry to highlight local employment opportunities and retain local talent in Grundy County.
Senator Rezin and the GEDC partnered with local industry and education to launch the program in 2013.
The 2019 Grundy County summer interns are:
Aux Sable
• Ben Kreiger, Jessica Murphy, and Nikolas States
“D” Construction
• Ryan Chapman, Aidan Connor, Jessica Hanley, Matt Jurak and Austin Pullara
Excel Machine& Tool, Inc.
• Pedro Espinoza and Zennon Shain
First Midwest Back
• Kameron Dransfeldt
• Nicole Guth
Joliet Junior College
• Kayla Aitkenhead, Gabriella Calderone, Marissa Escobedo, Morgan Larson, Sarah Schultz, and Allyson Scholtes.
• Kailyn Houglund, Shane O'Brien, Daniel Rodriguez, and Claudia Salazar
Mack & Associates
• Grace Larson and Casi Valdes
• Dakota Nelson
Morris Hospital
• Grace Bette, Kaitlyn Cochran, Luke Dvorak, Jenna Emmons, Grace Feigl, Preston Johnson, Kade Kjellesvik, Grace McClimon, Lauren Phillips, and Krista Runchey
NAF Axles
• Cole Gerovac
Rezin Orthopedics
• Morgan Garcia and Alayna Kjellesvik
• Alec Ferrari
US Cold Storage
• Marissa Billie and Sage Reische
Village of Channahon
• Kaleb Speitzer
Village of Minooka
• Ella Ferguson